The sun always rises.

RepowerYolo was founded and is directed by Yolo County residents Chris Soderquist and John Walter. We collaborate with leading solar companies -- product manufacturers, installation contractors, designers and engineers -- and local financial institutions to reduce the cost and enhance the quality of solar for our friends and neighbors.


Chris Soderquist

A 40-year resident of Davis, Chris helps homeowners decide if solar makes sense and, if so, ensures they make a sage investment. He has 28 years experience founding, managing, advising, capitalizing and selling companies in the clean tech, high tech, professional services and private equity industries. Chris is a member of the Cool Davis Foundation, Davis Community Meals and Housing, Downtown Davis Business Association and Inventopia Board of Directors, a member of the Yolo Food Bank “End Hunger Yolo” Capital Campaign Committee, and a former board member of Sierra Energy, Sacramento Area Regional Technology Alliance, UC Davis Connect, Sacramento Entrepreneurship Academy, Comstock’s Business Magazine, and the UC Davis Graduate School of Management Alumni Association. He earned a BS from Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo, and an MBA from UC Davis. Chris and his wife, Karen, have two sons, Scott (19) and Ty (16).


John Walter

John manages engineering and operations for Repower, ensuring homeowners’ solar systems are installed on time, on budget, and as specified. He is a board member (and past president) of the Sacramento Entrepreneurship Academy, and an adjunct faculty member, teaching sustainable business practices, at UC Davis. Recently, he directed the 2014 Cool Davis Festival. Prior to co-founding Repower, John worked with Octus Energy, Itron, Isaacson Miller, The MarketTech Group, Lawrence Livermore National Lab, and Chevron. John earned three degrees (BS, MS and Degree of Engineer) from Stanford University and an MBA from UC Davis. John and his wife, Debby, have called Davis home for 25 years; their daughter, Kristy, graduated from Davis High School in 2007.